Home Sports Watch Asafa Powell win the 2015 National 100m Champion Title

Watch Asafa Powell win the 2015 National 100m Champion Title

Update: Asafa Powell is the 2015 National 100m Champion. Powell ran 9.84 equalling his season’s best. Powell finished ahead Nickel Ashmeade (9.91) and Kemar Bailey-Cole (9.97).


A video posted by View Jamaica (@viewjamaica) on

100m Results

Asafa Powell ran the fastest time of the 100m semi-finals on day two of the National Senior Championships which is underway at the National Stadium in Kingston and will advance to the finals later tonight.

100m -Final line up
100m -Final line up

Powell displayed dominance in the first quarter-final on day 1 of the National Senior Championships at the National Stadium in Kingston on Thursday. The powerful Powell clocked 9.98 in a 0.2 m/s headwind to beat 2011 World 100m champion Yohan Blake to the finish line. Blake ran sluggishly for the first 40m of the race but managed to tie with Kemarley Brown of UTech for second place, both athletes clocked 10.24.

Nesta Carter of MVP won the second quarter-final in 10.12 ahead of Sheldon Mitchell of Swept Track Club who finished second in a time of 10.13, and Tyquendo Tracey of UTech, who came in third with a personal best of 10.14.

2014 Commonwealth Champion Kemar Bailey-Cole of Racers Track Club won the third quarter-final with a season’s best of 10.05 edging out Andrew Fisher’s 10.05 of UTech and Jason Livermore, 10.06, of AKAN Track Club.

Nickel Ashmeade cruised to win the 4th quarter-final in 10.04 ahead of two-time World Junior Champion Dexter Lee and Racers Track Club’s Jevaughn Minzie. Lee and Minzie both clocked a season’s best time of 10.18.

Asafa Powell, Yohan Blake, Nesta Carter, Jason Livermore, Michael Frater, Kemarley Brown, Andrew Fisher, and Kimmari Roach will all line up to compete in the first of the two 100m semi-finals. In the second semi-final Kemar Bailey-Cole, Nickel Ashmeade, Jevaughn Minzie, Dexter Lee, Sheldon Mitchell, Tyquendo Tracey, Bernado Brady and Oshane Bailey will compete to qualify for the final. The four fastest athletes of each semi-final will advance to the final later tonight, Friday, June 26.

Sem-finals line up
Source: Jamaica Observer /Bryan Cummings

Here are the fastest times of the quarter-finals

Fastest times of the quarter-finals